Breaking News

Annual Scientific Seminar Is June 2-3 in Las Vegas

May 3, 2011

Annual Scientific Seminar Is June 2-3 in Las Vegas

Annual Scientific Seminar Is June 2-3 in Las Vegas

• The 2011 Annual Scientific Seminar, hosted by Area III, will take place June 2-3, 2011 at the Bellagio Resort in Las Vegas, NV.Here is a look at the sessions scheduled:

• Thursday, June 2: Session A — Skin, with Howard Epstein, EMD Chemicals, Inc. as moderator. The session will open with the Henry Maso Keynote Award Lecture, sponsored by the Maso family and Siltech Corp. Dr. Reinhold Dauskardt of Stanford University will present “Biomechanics of the Barrier Function of Human Skin: Predicting Skin Damage and the Effects of Cosmetic Treatments.”

Session B — Hair, with Joseph Dallal of ISP as moderator. Presentation will include “Maltodextrin Based Styling Polymers,” “Manipulating the Bulk Properties of Hair,” and “Hair Setting with Hot Irons and Heat Activation.”

• Friday, June 3, Session C — Genomics, with a Martha Tate of Kimberly-Clark as moderator. Presentations will include “Using Human Genomic Microarrays in Personal Care,” “The Role of Clock and SITR-1 In Chormatin Remodeling: A New Code of Entry for DNA Repair in Human Skin,” and “Oridonine and the Anti-Oxidant Response Elements (A.R.E.): A Study of Coherence between Genomics, Proteomics and Clinical Results.”

Session D — Sun, with Robert Bianchini of Merck Consumer Care as moderator. Presentations will include “Evaluation of Photo-Toxic Effect of Fractionated Melanin: A Comparative Study Between Three Different Cell Lines,” “Stimulation of Skin Immunity and Langerhans Cells Protection Dramatically Reduces UV-Induced Skin Erythema and TEWL,” and “Using Light Diffusion to Make Anti-Aging Claims.”

More info:

Bill Nye To KeynoteNYSCC Conference

• The New York Chapter of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists (NYSCC) has tapped celebrity scientist Bill Nye as the keynote speaker for its 2011 Technology Transfer Conference, which will be held Nov. 9 at the Pleasantdale Chateau in West Orange, NJ.

Additional speakers for the all-day event include Prof. George John of CCNY, Greg Hillebrand of P&G and Louis Paul of Louis C. Paul & Associates. A speaker representing government will also be on the docket, as well as networking opportunities, a buffet lunch and posters.

NYSCC has issued a call for abstracts for the event, with prizes for best posters of $8000 for first prize, $4000 for second prize and $2000 for third prize. Two honorable mention awards of $1000 will also be presented. Abstracts for research to be considered for the poster sessions must be submitted by Sept. 9. A limit of 10 posters will be accepted in each conference category, selected by the Conference Review Committee.

Pre-registration for NYSCC members is $30 and $60 for non-members; students are $10. At the door, registration is $75.

More info:

Young ScientistRecognition Awards

• Beginning in 1993, the Society of Cosmetic Chemists initiated a program to recognize the achievements of the younger scientists working in the cosmetic industry. The 2010 winners of this award were: Rabab Ahmed, Darrick Cardone, Anna Weinstein and Edna Ambundo of Colgate-Palmolive; Erica Babson of Active Organics LLC; Christopher Casey, Garrett Vanderover and Stephanie Haller of Estée Lauder Companies; Jordan Cordiero of Kao Brands Company; Tiffany Florence of Mary Kay, Inc.; Katie Frey of Steris Corp.; Remona Gopaul of Nu Skin Enterprise; Thomas Lehman of Mansfield-King; Tiffany Oliphant of Floratech and Jeff Seidling of Kimberly-Clark.