FiFi Reigns Supreme

June 8, 2009

Coty takes home six FiFi awards, while Estée Lauder nabs four and Elizabeth Arden garners three at the fragrance industry’s biggest night of the year.

FiFi Reigns Supreme

Coty takes home six FiFi awards, while Estée Lauder nabs four and Elizabeth Arden garners three at the fragrance industry’s biggest night of the year.

Nancy Jeffries

The annual FiFi Awards, presented by The Frag-rance Foundation, is the most prestigious fragrance event of the year. Showcas-ing the talents and creativity of the fragrance industry, the awards recognize creative achievement and innovation, as well as timeless classics that have set the bar in the fragrance world. On May 27, The Fragrance Foundation celebrated its 60th anniversary and the 37th Annual FiFi Awards at New York City’s Downtown Armory, a new venue for the event, featuring red-carpet guests Ernest and Tova Borgnine, Mary J. Blige, Paris Hilton, Queen Latifah and Hall of Fame Recipient, Marc Jacobs.

Camille McDonald, Bath & Body Works
Fragrance Foundation president, Rochelle Bloom, commented, “The FiFi Awards showcase creativity, and because it is such a high-profile event, we are thrilled to welcome the movers and shakers of the fragrance community, as well as dynamic and talented stars from the world of entertainment, TV, fashion and design. The media buzz brings attention to the pleasure and enjoyment fragrance can bring to the consumer and helps keep our business thriving.”

In addition to the traditional awards, two new categories were added this year. The first new category was the Niche/Indie Brand award, which honors independent creators whose products are featured in 50 doors and under, and Perfume Extraordinaire of the Year 2008, an honor that recognizes the actual “juice” of a fine fragrance, including its craftsmanship, design, signature, creativity and quality. It acknowledges not only the essential oil company, but also the perfumer or perfumers who created the fine fragrance.

Winning Fragrances

The first fragrance winner, introduced by Queen Latifah (who will soon launch her own scent called Queen), was the Fragrance of the Year in the Men’s Nouveau Niche category. The winner was Burberry The Beat for Men, P&G Prestige Products, Inc. Fragrance of the Year in the Women’s Nouveau Niche category was Chloé Eau de Parfum, by Coty Prestige. In the Best Packaging Men’s Popular Appeal category, the FiFi was awarded to McGraw, by Tim McGraw, Coty Inc. Women’s Popular Appeal Packaging honors went to Avon Bond Girl 007, Avon Products, Inc.

Harry and Laura Slatkin, of Bath & Body Works and Nest Candles, respectively.
The Bath and Body Line of the year winner, announced by Barney’s Simon Doonan, was Angel Les Parfums Corps, by Thierry Mugler, Clarins Fragrance Group. Interior Scent Collection honors went to Nest Fragrances Collection Candles by The Candela Group, presented to Laura Slatkin, who acknowledged her husband, Harry Slatkin, as her partner and her inspiration.

The winning Media Campaign of the Year in the Men’s category was Dirty English from Juicy Couture by Elizabeth Arden. The winning Women’s Media Campaign was Sensuous by Estée Lauder.

Fragrance of the Year, Women’s Private Label Direct Sell was Victoria’s Secret Sexy Little Things Noir Eau de Parfum, Victoria’s Secret Beauty. Fragrance of the Year in the Unique Boutique category, sold in boutique or specialty stores with 50 doors or less, went to Tom Ford Private Blend Champaca Absolute (unisex) by Tom Ford Beauty.

Also acknowledged were the Editorial Excellence winners, whose articles on fragrance bring awareness, research and meaningful information to consumers. This year’s honors were awarded to Allure, “Uncommon Scents,” (scent feature); Elle, for “Advanced Chemistry,” (short feature) and “This Year’s Model: What A Boy Wants,” (men’s scent feature). The winning blog feature was “Scents of Cities, Kiev,” featured on Bois de Jasmin.

Paris Hilton Honored

The Technological Breakthrough Award went to Aquafine by Mane USA; and special honors were awarded to Paris Hilton, who received the Fragrance Celebrity of the Year Award,which was presented by Parlux CEO, Neil Katz.

William Lauder and Lynn Greene, Estée Lauder Companies.
In his tribute to Ms. Hilton, Mr. Katz described Ms. Hilton as, “a woman of many dimensions,” and announced the launch of her newest fragrance, Siren.

Best Packaging in the Men’s Prestige category went to 9IX Rocawear by Elizabeth Arden; while Best Packaging in Women’s Prestige honors was a tie, with honors awarded to Harajuku Lovers Fragrance Collection, Coty Prestige, and Madame, Jean Paul Gaultier, Beauté Prestige International.

The Fragrance Retailer of the Year Award, presented by actor Ernest Borgnine, went to his wife, Tova Borgine and QVC, represented by Allan Burke. Ms. Borgnine thanked the fragrance industry, noting that she, the founder of Tova Beverly Hills, and QVC had just celebrated 19 years together.

Ms. Borgnine encouraged attendees to “live your dream and make a pact with an organization that shares your dream,” she acknowledged in thanking QVC. Mr. Burke thanked Ernest Borgnine for 50 years of wonderful work, and acknowledged Tova for her vision and partnership.

This year’s Hall of Fame Winner was designer Marc Jacobs, whose newest fragrance, Lola, is a sensuous scent in a heart-shaped bottle. Mr. Jacobs thanked Coty for making fragrances that are so popular with women all over the world. Honors in the Women’s Popular Appeal category went to American Beauty Beloved by BeautyBank; and the Men’s Popular Appeal award went to McGraw by Tim McGraw, Coty Inc. Men’s Luxe Fragrance winner was I Am King, Sean John Fragrances; and the Women’s Luxe winner was Harajuku Lovers Fragrances, Love Lil’ Angel, Music, Baby and “G,” by Coty Prestige, Inc.

The Perfume Extraordinaire of the Year, presented by Mary J. Blige, was Mane Fragrances USA, for A Travers Le Miroir Thierry Mugler, Clarins Fragrance Group, with perfumer Alexis Dadier, Mane Paris.

Liz Gets in the Hall of Fame

The Fragrance Foundation Hall of Fame Award, which recognizes a fragrance classic, men’s or women’s, which was at least 15 years old by 2008, is an honor that recognizes classic achievement in fragrance. The award for the Fragrance Hall of Fame this year was a tie, with honors going to White Diamonds Elizabeth Taylor by Elizabeth Arden, and Davidoff Cool Water by Coty Prestige.

Ernest Borgnine, actor, and Tova Borgnine, fragrance creator, and retail winner.
In addition to the specific fragrance honors awarded each year, The Fragrance Foundation also selects the Certified Fragrance Sales Specialist of the Year, which honors the top scorer in the Foundation’s Fragrance Certification Specialist exam.

Top honors went to Carlos Fernandez-Velasco, business manager, Thierry Mugler Perfumes, Clarins Fragrance Group, Saks Fifth Avenue.

Additional information is available online at The Fragrance Foundation’s website: www.fragrance.org